He’s gone


For those who remember our resident kangaroo – here’s a recap. IMG_2683

This old fella came every day to visit. Despite him eating my roses, geraniums and most vegetables – he really was an old, gentle and quite friendly fellow. He used to come quite close to the house and simply stare up at us.

IMG_2685

He was a big boy too – over six feet and very fast. He used to scare me when I walked in the garden on a moonlit night!  Even Albert cat liked him.

.IMG_2677-0

Recently, a neighbour told me they called the wildlife service to have him removed because he was annoying their dog. Poor fella – he’s gone now.

We saw him for the last time last summer. So this is my little tribute to this amazing creature.

IMG_3569

Good bye old boy. We had fun! Wildlife is simply so special.

About crabandfish

The everyday and the extraordinary loves of life. We have a one acre cold zone garden in the mountains of rural Victoria, Australia. This blog chronicles its ever changing nature. We also love traveling and writing, our cats, our chickens, the sea, cooking, and of course, our garden.
This entry was posted in Australian wildlife, cats, garden journal, garden photography, kangaroos, photography, recollections, roses and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to He’s gone

  1. mattb325 says:

    That’s terrible news – I don’t understand why someone would live in a semi-rural environment if they aren’t prepared to share their patch 😦

    Like

    • crabandfish says:

      Hi Mat, thanks for your comments. My post can’t convey the absolute sadness I felt when I found out that he had been removed.. He was old but not a pest. Thanks for your concern – much appreciated. Flavia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kevin says:

    Hi Flavia. I have a difficult enough time battling iguanas. I wonder how I would handle a kangaroo in the yard! I think I would be in awe. Cool stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

