Blue Beans


There aren’t too many blue shades in nature. I remember my grandfather, many years ago, getting very excited telling me he was growing a new rose called “Blue Moon”. But really it was a lavender colour – not blue at all.

Sure, there are bluish pansies and violas, however, they also have a purplish tinge. I have lots of blue pots but otherwise no blue plants. So you can imagine my surprise when I opened a packet of seeds this afternoon….

IMG_3507.JPG
Well! The pack read Roma Beans from a reputable mail order company. They were duck-egg blue, they even looked like tiny duck eggs! When I read further, I discovered they were treated with a fungicide. Well! Do I want to plant blue beans? Do I want to eat the next generation of blue beans? Mmmmm…..

My little garden patch is struggling after the cold winter.

IMG_4080.JPG
A little garlic, some spindly spinach, regularly nibbled on by Mr Kangaroo, who, by the way is still around. Some sorrel and a bowl of lettuce.

.

IMG_3569.JPG

And today we had shots of brilliant sunshine – I had to plant.

IMG_4082.JPG So, in they went – the blue beans! Maybe I’ll just grow them for seed! Can you recommend growing blue beans ?

IMG_4081.JPG
I’ll keep you posted.

About crabandfish

The everyday and the extraordinary loves of life. We have a one acre cold zone garden in the mountains of rural Victoria, Australia. This blog chronicles its ever changing nature. We also love traveling and writing, our cats, our chickens, the sea, cooking, and of course, our garden.
This entry was posted in garden diary, garden photography, garden writing, kangaroo, kitchen diary, memories, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

